Victorian Association of Jewish Ex & Servicemen & Women Australia Incorporated

Founding Member General Sir John Monash GCMG KCB VD

Sunday, 30 April 2017 19:51

2017 Anzac Commemoration

Written by

President Harry Lubansky and the ceremonial team Julie Leder and Judy Landau had a packed house at today's ANZAC Commemoration service.

The service was held in the presence of:

Immediate Past President and Life Member Dr Judy Landau (and Mr Steve Tusak)
Past President and Life Member Mr Ben Hirsh (and Mrs Hanna Hirsh)
Life Member Mrs Ruby Grose
Life Member Mr Ian Mansfield (and Mrs Alona Mansfield)

Mr Tim Wilson MP, Federal Liberal Member for Goldstein
Mr David Southwick, MP State Member for Caulfield

Cr Mary Delahunty, Mayor City of Glen Eira
Cr Tony Athanasopoulos
Cr Jamie Hyams
Cr Joel Silver

Mr Simon Bloomer, President Carry On Victoria
Legatee Graeme Plumridge, President Melbourne Legacy
Mr Geoff Goldsmith, representing Caulfield RSL & also representing NZ RSL

Mr David Marlow, Executive Director JCCV
Ms Roni Fraid, Vice President JNF Victoria and National Board member JNF
Mrs Rysia Rozen OAM, President National Council of Jewish Women of Australia (and Mr Richard Rozen OAM)
Mrs Atida Lipshatz, representing Zionism Victoria

Guest of Honour was COL John Coulson OAM RFD ED Governor of the Shrine of Remembrance and Chairman of the Battle for Australia Foundation.

Memorial candles were lit and Psalm 23 was recited by member Mr Dennis Max. Many wreaths were placed before the Ode was recited by Mr Harry Lubansky. Last Post, minute's silence and Reveille* was sounded by a bugler from the Royal Australian Navy Band. * Note: RAN sounds Reveille and not Rouse.

Kel Maleh Rachamim was chanted by Chaplain CAPT Rabbi Dovid Gutnick, VAJEX Australia & ADF Chaplain. Kaddish was said by our welfare officer, Mr Efraim Finch.

The presentations of the Private Gregory Sher Memorial awards were given by Captain Joshua Fink who represented the Sher Family who were interstate. Students eligible for the award are not already taking a high leadership profile in the school, but contribute by doing service in the community or at their school, in an outstanding way. Private Gregory Sher had the lowest rank in the army, but he made a significant difference with his service and sacrifice.

Winners were:
Dobba Raskin and Aliza Werdiger

Cara Davies and Tania Szwarcberg

Benji Kalkopf and Aimee Raitman

Nathan Faiman and Gabriella Katz

Mikhayla Burstin and Milo Friedman

Ellie Figdor and Aaron Segal

Zoitsa Diakoumis and Reuben Stein-Fooks

Ilan Janet and Efraim Raskin

President Mr Harry Lubansky with Immediate Past President Dr Judy Landau and Past President Mr Ben Hirsh.

The event was proudly supported by Glen Eira City Council.

Read 2417 times Last modified on Wednesday, 14 July 2021 18:04
Back to top

NAJEX logoQAJEX Logo WAJEX Logo AJEX Logo RSL Caulfield Logo RSL LogoCarry On Logo Legacy Logo
DVA Logo  awm logo ADFA Logo     Jewish War Veterans LogoJews in Green LogoJCCV LogoJewish Museum Australia Logo Advanced Stone Logo

© 2015 - Victorian Association of Jewish Ex & Servicemen & Women Australia Incorporated (VAJEX Australia)
Website Developed & Designed by Concatenate Aust Pty Ltd